AWARDED GAMES "Minister of Economy,Trade and Industry Award"

The Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry Award
goes to Masahiro Sakurai

The Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry Award is given to individuals
who have contributed to the development of the computer game industry
and thus to Masahiro Sakurai was selected for the award.

Mr. Masahiro Sakurai has been producing many hit video games including those for family computer. His games attract many players and sell very well in the world as well as in Japan.
In his masterwork “Super Smash Bros.” series, he adopted an approach to feature various popular characters from Nintendo and other franchises and convey appeals of many games in one game.

This award is given to him because he has contributed to the development of the video game industry through his wide-range activities to convey the appeal of games regardless of manufacturers: producing concerts of game music and engaging in writing activities as a free creator as well as playing a role as a chief judge of the Game Designers Award, which selects and recognizes innovative and creative games,
from the viewpoint of a game designer.
<Objective of indroducing the METI Award>
Computer Entertainment Supplier's Association (CESA) understands computer entertainment software as a cultural form and is holding this event since 1996 to celebrate the 19th anniversary this year for the purposes to vitalize and contribute to development of the computer entertainment software industry.

The Japan Game Awards have been selecting and awarding excellent videogame software in three categories of "Game of the Year Division", "Future Division" and "Amateur Division".

While the awards were formerly given only to videogame software, the "METI Award" was introduced last year which is to be awarded both to videogame software and persons/group of persons which and who are supporting the videogame industry to make the system "more open and meaningful award system".

<Selection Criteria for the METI Award>
The prize is awarded to those who have contributed to the development of the videogame industry through creation of excellent products or expanded the scope of the videogame industry using a new expression, technology, etc.Persons and group of persons are eligible to receive the award.